Oxford and Cambridge Golfing Society

The Oxford and Cambridge Golfing Society, founded in 1898, is the oldest golfing society in the world. Known simply as The Society, its 700 members are mostly those who have gained their ‘blue’ by taking part in the annual university match. The Oxford and Cambridge Golfing Society plays about thirty five matches each year and holds its match play competition each January, at Rye Golf Club in England, known as the President’s Putter. The format of the play at Rye is foursomes.

As the society states, “election to the Society is no automatic affair and each new member wears his tie of light and dark blue stripes upon a green background with great pride.” Many well known golf personalities have been members of the society including Bernard Darwin, Henry Longhurst, Harvey Pennick, Dickinson, H.S. Colt, C.H. Alison, H.S.C. Everard, Horace Hutchinson and Donald Steel.

2012 Blue Ben Wescoe winning the Presidents Putter

2012 Blue Ben Wescoe winning the Presidents Putter


The Wall Street Journal ‘The Crazy World of the President’s Putter’ 2014 

Read the full article – The Wall Street Journal

The President’s Putter, it should be noted, isn’t the frivolous golf equivalent of one of those New Year’s Day polar bear plunges. It is a far more serious matter. For one thing, to be eligible the participants must have earned a “blue” (the British equivalent of a varsity letter in the U.S.) playing at Oxford or Cambridge. Many are scratch golfers or better.


Golf Digest ‘The Games Most Authentic Event’ 2009 

Read the full article – Golf Digest

There was a time when the Putter would be contested among household names, men like Holderness, Tolley, Wethered, the great and the good of the day. After Holderness won the first four Putters, the fifth, in 1924, was won by Bernard Darwin, the esteemed, tweed-bedecked golf writer who won a Walker Cup singles match in 1922. Four of the eight-strong 1926 Walker Cup side were “Oxbridge” men and Putter regulars.